Clear · 79°
2024 Tornado Resources

Conservation Board

The Adair County Conservation Board's duty is to serve the residents of Adair County. The Board consists of five county residents appointed by the Board of Supervisors.

Conservation Board

Nancy Antisdel, Chair
Term Ends: 12/31/24
Term Length: 5 Years
John Gruss, Vice Chair
Term Ends: 12/31/27
Term Length: 5 Years
Kenneth Eddy, Secretary
Term Ends: 12/31/28
Term Length: 5 Years
Doug Davidson
Term Ends: 12/31/25
Term Length: 5 Years
Patricia Randel
Term Ends: 12/31/26
Term Length: 5 Years

History of the Conservation Board

Adair County was settled in 1849, with the county organized in 1851 and named after General John Adair, an officer in the War of 1812. Adair County consists of 573 square miles, or over 360,000 acres. Today, 1,034 acres of this county are preserved in 10 county recreation areas.

These areas are managed by the Adair County Conservation Board, which was established by the voters in the general election of 1958. The purpose of the Board is to make available to the public high-quality parks, recreation, conservation, and an environmental education system for the citizens of Adair County and the State of Iowa.

The five members of the Conservation Board are appointed by the Board of Supervisors for five-year terms, without pay. The Adair County Conservation Board welcomes any questions or comments about how we can better serve you.

Back · Adair County Conservation

Tornado Resources